Compliments

There is something that has always caught my attention: people do not know how to accept a compliment. I find myself among those people sometimes. But then I sat and thought about it. It should not be that way. I mean, when someone has congratulated on something you have done or they find something about you that they like, it can only mean that somewhere you have earned that person’s respect and admiration. But it can happen, as it most of the time happens with me, you are so flustered you do not know what to say!

However, after thinking long about it again, there are in fact many small things that one can do in such situations. One can simply say “thank you”! It is the classic thing to do anyway and it does not take a lot to say that now, does it? This helps more when the compliment has caught you off guard. To smile can also do the trick. And besides, you have probably earned it, so enjoy your moment in the spotlight. πŸ˜› In addition to that, it saves you from having to say anything! Now, one can also compliment the other person in return! Say something nice about the person who gave you a compliment. πŸ˜‰ One very important thing, in my opinion, is that one has to give credit where credit is due. Sometimes a certain work is done by a group and only some individuals get congratulated for it. In such situations, these individuals must share the compliment with the whole group. This is especially effective if the person giving the compliment was responsible for your success.

Let’s take this on some other aspects. Sometimes, when a person has complimented someone, the latter tends to argue. If argue is the right word here! They just do not agree with the compliment! I do that myself. I realise it is something worthless! Just because I know my accomplishment was not really all that hard or the compliment did not really fit does not mean I have to protest or object to the compliment. I guess then that the best thing to do is to smile, say thanks, and let it go! (Easier said than done? I do not think so! It just takes a little self-control! πŸ˜‰ )

And well, I have observed that it can so happen that when someone has been complimented, they try to fish for more! I think here it is more of a psychological problem or just human nature! Hence beyond my comprehension! πŸ˜›

Bottom line I’ll just say that a compliment is something good! So take which ever way you find more gracious! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Compliments

  1. Β₯@$# says:

    Nice Post!!! <– That’s a compliment! πŸ˜†

    Ayo, moi I hate compliments… Mo pa koner kot pou met figire kan dimoune dire something nice towards me… πŸ˜•
    Ek mo pa kav tane dimoune dire moi merci oci kan mone fer kik soz pou zot… I do it naturally… I hate the “thanks”… πŸ˜•

  2. Thank You for the compliment! πŸ™‚
    I guess you have to learn to say thanks and to accept them in return!
    Like I said, it takes a little self control and I’ll add: willingness
    to change in a good way πŸ˜›

  3. β€œCompliment” is it a brand of butter lol
    man dimon mo connai content compliment toi pou pas dibear ek sa ki @#$%
    enfin
    nice post
    ps can you stop making noise in class you disturb my concentration while I’m sleeping
    yash fΓ©licitation pou to concours <– fair cuma dir pas 1 compliment!

  4. therez a difference between flattering and complementing! lol…
    i’ll try to make less noise but that class is sooo boring pinky!!! πŸ˜›
    so i am not promising anythg!

  5. wazal says:

    hey this is nice… well false compliments can be categorised as a bit of hypocrisy but the fact that the person is complementin his/her frnd or very often his/her love, compensates this hypocrisy… koz he is using some imaginary words like dat and sayin well anii(for eg) u r soo beautiful n cool n etc etc.. well his motive was to make u happy.. soo u can only accept n b happy… no need to ask urself if u r really beautiful.. lol. . btw anii u r really beautiful… accept it koz this is not compliment this is a real fact in a true sense of feeling.. u c this is imaginary wordz.. lol.. btw was kiddin.. u rock

Drop a Word In My World

