Women and High Heels

Countless number of times, I heard my mum telling me to stop wearing those flat shoes or ‘ballerines’ I am so fond of wearing and to start wearing high heels. High heels will make me look taller, smarter and more ‘chic’ to go to work. I gave it a try and most of the time, I like it. But, girls, we got to admit that it is not comfortable and sometimes difficult to walk in, specially when the ground you are walking on ain’t that high-heel-friendly! 😛 

So I was just browsing the net, looking about information on high heels and its history (yeah, fashion history is very interesting 😉 ). Well, I did come across some important stuffs I was not quite aware of.

  • Why do women wear high heels in the first place?

First and foremost, to be more NOTICEABLE! ” Women in heels are more likely to attract favourable notice..” It is no secret that when you are taller, you get more attention. In addition to making a woman look taller, high heels enhance the shape of her body: “high heels force the back to arch, pushing the bosom forward and the buttocks rearward, thus accentuating the female form.” 

 

  • Medical Issues Surrounding High Heels
  1.  Sore feet at the end of the day
  2. The shape of the body caused by wearing high heels is not the ‘normal’ anatomical position.
  3. Physicians say high heels are “biomechanically and orthopedically unsound,” citing medical, postural and safety faults of such heels, according to the American Podiatric Medical Association. 
  4. Knee and Back problems.
  5. Shortened Calf Muscles
  6. Pump bump (“It’s like a callus of bone on the back of the heel from the shoe rubbing the bone.”)
  • Best Shoe Designers

Among the best shoe designers, we find the names of Yves Saint-Laurent, Christian Dior, Gianni Versace and Jimmy Choo. Notice the similarity: They are all men! [Blame the discomfort on men! 😉 ]

All in all, I would say that is it a matter of choice. Some girls I know cannot go anywhere without their high heels. They just love it. Some wear it to make an impression, to state power etc. Every woman has her own reasons. However, it is very important to be aware of the dangers of high heels. That part is not very well known by women. 

In my opinion, the best way to go is to choose the appropriate day and time to enjoy the high heels. For example, it will not be practical to wear them on a day when you would be on your feet the whole time. 😛 

Below is a nice quote about high heels that I find interesting to think about:

“High heels speak to women and society. They refuse to be considered just another accessory, but demand recognition of their complexity and power and feminine construction,”  Arielle Abeyta – High Heels: 4 Inches Closer to Heaven 

 

References:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-548730/Lifes-little-mysteries

http://serendip.brynmawr.edu

http://www.healthatoz.com/healthatoz/Atoz/common

11 thoughts on “Women and High Heels

  1. lol!
    The only girl speaking the truth!

    Most of the time, I get mails :
    Girls are bla bla, and blabla…

    But you wrote this so nicely, girls wear high heels only to get noticed…without these heels, they would not be noticeable LOL.

  2. This is an interesting blog. i didnt know you had one.. until i saw it on facebook. promote it a little, the stuffs are cool here.

    back to the topic.. yeh, not only you get noticeable, but you look hot and sexy. sort of reshapes your anatomy to make you more attractive. especially as the heels lifts and push ur buttocks rearwards.

    references tou.. tone tro fer research paper uom toi! lol

  3. $öU ;) says:

    Hehe so my dear Nii that ‘tacky’ subject of high heels huh? Remem when u just joined work n u decided to wear them? 😛

    Not so easy i completely agree !!! It’s even worst with a saree!!! lolz!

    But sure high heels make us look more feminine and anyway GUYS it’s just ur fault coz everytime sme girl would pass by with high heels you’d just turn 360 degrees to look at her so…

  4. I love wearing high heels too. Very chic! But when I’m at work, I just kick off my shoes under my desk and for sure that’s a relief! At the end of the day, I don’t feel like I have swollen feet because most of the time, my shoes were under my desk 😀

Drop a Word In My World

