University

I saw this poster for a career fair and a strange sense of nostalgia hit me. Four years ago, I had just finished my A-Levels and was planning to go to University. Just like many students are right now. Weighing the pros and cons of such and such universities to follow such and such course.

It does not matter whether you are staying in your homeland or heading out into the wide world, your life is definitely going to change. You will be starting one of the most important and defining chapters of your life.

At Uni, you will meet a lot of people. Different kinds of people.ย Just to point out, I went to the University of Mauritius. So, I didn’t leave the country. Still, that does not change the fact that I came across a lot of people and befriended a good number of them. The thing is, you just have to be yourself and be very open-minded and tolerant as bear in mind too, that not everyone is going to like you, and you are not going to like everyone. But that is not a point to really worry about. After a few months, you will be right in the circle where you belong. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Study hard. Tertiary level is not all that easy anyway. You know that. However, do not spend all of your time studying hard! Take time to giggle with your friends and do crazy stuffs. ย Skipping a few lectures ain’t all that bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Create memories which will make you smile four years after, just like I am doing right now. ๐Ÿ™‚ And take lots and lots of pictures! You know, you only get to do this once. Sure you can go back for your masters but it definitely will not be the same. The first three or four years of University life are the best.

Okay yeah, University life is not all that rosy either. You will get your share of downs. You just have to be very strong and not take some things too seriously. After all, you are learning and mistakes will happen. ๐Ÿ˜‰ This reminds me: having a group of close friends really help in such situations too. They are your support, just as you are part of theirs.

Oof! Writing this post is flooding my mind with so many many memories. Memories I will cherish for the rest of my life. My course lasted only three years but they were, without a doubt, three of the best years of my life. I have met such amazing people, whom I have come to love so very much.

University life ends with graduation. One of the most emotional experience of my life. You just feel it, the ending. I am unable to find the appropriate words to describe it. You have to go through it to really understand. I made a video after my graduation. I am going to watch it now and indulge a little bit more into the happy memories.

Good luck to all those who are embarking on this wonderful journey. Make it one to remember! ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 thoughts on “University

  1. $รถU ;) says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I did get a bit emotional reading this! Indeed it is true those first university years have been very special and reminiscing our graduation makes me even more emotional *sighs*

Drop a Word In My World

