Food Lover’s Market

Image

Food Lover’s Market,

Bagatelle Mall,

Mauritius

Yeah, that is where you need to go if you are a food lover. A healthy food lover. Since I am now living on the 70%-30% rule, the Food Lover’s Market is just the right place for me. 

It has various kinds of salads, which varies everyday. They are not all yum, but they are good. Salmon salad, 3 bean salad and chicken salad are my favorites. What is even better, you can choose your own potion (Unlike in those ‘Salad Bars’ I have been to). The price varies too. It is not cheap but it is not very expensive. Oily fast foods cost way more!

Ah, the ‘Smoothie’ section is great too! You get to choose your own fruits for the drink and a large cup will cost you only Rs110. It is very refreshing and filling. 

The breads. Yummy! All shapes and all sizes. Pretty expensive, I agree. But it is worth it. They actually make eating brown bread enjoyable for me. 

You’ll find all sorts of nuts too. Macadamia and Cashews. Hmmmmm! Unsalted, salted, Unsweetened, Sweetened, Raw. The pots in which they store the nuts are covered, unlike how it is at Jumbo Phoenix. 

Fruits and Vegs: Working people will love it. Already chopped and cleaned vegetables. 🙂 Ready for a stir fry! 😉 Fresh fruits. I have yet to see a rotten apple. 

One more thing I appreciate is that the place is clean! It looks fresh and well organised. 

Room for improvement: Larger Scale! It is too small for a ‘Market’. 😉 Larger variety of fruits. That’s all I can think of right now. 😀

I am sure many of you have already been to the Food Lover’s. I do not know how you like it but I absolutely love it there. 🙂 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Food Lover’s Market

  1. Been there but have not really took time to have a careful look at products or prices. I only know how to eat food, not to prepare them 😉 lol.
    However, I remember that they were not that cheap either and you might agree that it is not affordable for everyone to buy these ‘chopped and cleaned’ veggies everyday. Cuisine haut de gamme, we might put it like this. We cannot really compare it to traditional markets because of the additional ‘ready-made’ products but prices and environment really make the difference.

    Anyway, Bagatelle, the name says it all 🙂

    • Yeah, I do agree. Not everyone can afford it, unfortunately.
      And I wasn’t comparing it to traditional markets as such, may be except for the scale. I was more comparing with Fruits and Vegetables sections of hypermarkets like Jumbo. Many a times I have found rotten grapes at Jumbo. They should seriously pay more attention. And the nuts section? Urrgh!

  2. Excellent website. A lot of useful information here.

    I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you to your effort!

Drop a Word In My World

